Cave Drakena


Southeast of the island of Kefalonia, at the orge of Poros and at a height of 70 meters lies the Cave Drakena. It covers an area of around 90 square meters.
The Ephorate for Paleoanthropology and Spelaeology of southern Greece made excavations from 1992 to 2005 in order to date the age of the cave. According to them, the cave exists from the late Neolithic Age to the Bronze Age.

After years of leaving the cave took life from the late 7th to the 20th century BC as the Sanctuary of the Nymphs and the god Pana; During the modern era as well as other caves so it was used as a corral. The cave excavators revealed a rare finding for Greek standards. A carbonized thread with a length of a millimeter. The age of the filament was estimated at 7000 years which leads us to the conclusion that the Neolithic people could spin and weave. They also found seeds, bones and various food residue.



Drakaina Cave

Vaulted Mycenaean Tomb (Tzanata)


In 1992 at the Broutzi area of Tzanata another finding of the Mycenaean civilization was unearthed, by archaeologist Lazaros Kolonas, confirming once again how the island flourished during this period. It is a well-preserved tomb which is unique of its kind in western Greece, because of its good position and size (height of 3.95 m and a diameter of 6.80 m). The surface is 250 square meters.

The tomb is built on an older tomb oriented from south to north. During the Venetian occupation, the tomb was used as accommodation, therefore the dome collapsed. According to the precious discoveries of gold, it is alleged to be a grave of the rich rulers of that time.

The findings that came to light are gold jewelry, gems, pottery and many more, all of which are housed in the Archaeological Museum of Argostoli.



Terrabook Greece

Kosmetatou Mansion

kosmetatos 1



On the Rizospaston Avenue one of the few buildings not destroyed by the earthquake of 1953 stands still preserved. The Kosmetatou Mansion is an example for the architecture that dominated the island before the earthquake. The interior of the building was damaged and only the walls survived.

Before the seismic activity the Mansion was two-store, but nowadays only the ground floor remains. The Kosmetatou Mansion has now passed into the ownership of the Municipality of Argostoli, who has committed to restore the building, conservate it and even re-build the second floor. 

There is another building that retains elements of the seismic period but because of its position do not know many.




Garden of Napier

napier 1 scaled
An attraction that offers peace and relaxation with the beauty of the visitor is the Garden of Napier. It is an elevated wooded park with various species of plants and trees inside of Argostoli.
The park got its name in honor of the English commander who offered a lot in infrastructure during the 19th century on the island. Inside the park a memorial has been erected.

Many events take place in this park which was rebuilt after the earthquake and is suitable even for walks at night.





Korgialenio History & Folklore Museum of Argostoli

korgialenios 1 1


The museum is housed on the ground floor of the Korgialenios Library, a donation of Vangelis Typaldos Bassia, in Argostoli. The new wing houses two exhibitions in total. The museum collects studies, ranks and keeps inventory of all the history and folklore data of Kefalonia; from the Venetian period and up until the 1953 with the earthquakes.

The permanent exhibition is divided into the sections urban and rural department, ecclesiastical art and the city plan. Τhe collection of Byzantine icons of Charokopou and of Francis and Stephen Vallianou are exhibited seperate. This is a warm and friendly showroom.

The purpose of the museum is the view of history and folklore of the island from the 16th century to 1953, since many elements of Kefallonian culture was destroyed.

The Museum hosts :
• Photocopied English, French and Italian historical documents
• Household ware, porcelain, silverware
• Embroidery and daily farm utensils
• Reconstruction of a bedroom
• Watercolors, lithographs, maps, surveys, church plans
• Photographic records consisting of 3000 images of Kefalonia before earthquakes, of historical figures, of architectural hardware, of religious icons and temples.
• Works of art, wooden temples, sacred vessels, coins and pictures.

In the museum you can visit the informative Korgialeneios Library hosted here.

Opening hours
Monday – Saturday, 9 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Contact information
Address Ilia Zervou Str. 12, Argostoli
Tel.:   (+30) 22850 22725




Philharmonic School Lixouri



During the period of 1834 to 1839 the Philharmonic School of Pallis was established by Peter I. Skarlatos in Lixouri. The foundation of the school was the impetus to create similar schools in the Ionian Islands who had the purpose of cultural development during the British rule.

From the 19th century and until today, with the work of two centuries, the school educates young people who like music. The school is housed in the Nursing Home of Lixouri and continues its work, without being intimidated by major historical events, such as wars in Europe in the 20th century or civil war, nor catastrophic events like earthquakes of 1953.

On December 30 1982, the Philharmonic School of Lixouri and later of Pallis was awarded by the Athens Academy for the important work he has done so many years in the Greek intellectual world.




Archaeological Museum of Argostoli

arxaiologiko argostoli sm 6arxaiologiko argostoli sm 4




After the earthquake of 1953 which caused severe damage, the Archeological Museum of Argostoli was founded in 1957 and was completed in 1960. In the year 2000 the building was fully restored by all the damage. The Archaeological Museum of Argostoli hosted findings from the prehistoric era. The museum has three galleries.

In the first room it exhibits findings from Sami, Fiskardo and Skala which date back to the Paleolithic and Neolithic period. Here you will find flint tools, pottery, ceramics and precious miniature vaulted tombs from the Mycenaean period.

In the second room there are findings from the Mycenaean period which present the special edge on the island of Kefalonia. Items come mainly from graves, which were very prosperous in the history of the island period.

In the third room there are findings dating back from the 5th century BC when Kefalonia was divided into 4 city-states (Pali, Krani, Pronni and Sami). In this room you will see the pitchers from the 8th century BC, marble head of Silenus, plastic vase in form of a slave, objects from cemeteries in Fiskardo, burial three columns, a marble female head and part of the mosaic floor of the sanctuary to Poseidon in Lixouri.

Opening hours
Tuesday – Sunday: 8.30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Contact information
Address G. Vergoti Str., Argostoli
Tel.:   (+30) 26710 28300



Church Evangelistria in the Castle

euagelistrias1 3euagelistrias1 1



The Church Evangelistria and spire located in the Castle of Agios Georgios (St. George). The marble inscription found in this testifies that the church was built in 1580. This Ionian Islands baroque church where the medieval past was the metropolis of the capital.

Wonderful remarkable Byzantine icons decorate the church and a wooden temple. From Sunday after Easter and up until the Sunday of the good Samaritan woman, the miraculous image of Virgin Mary from the Monastery of Sissi is hosted here.

Bay & Port of Argostoli

paralia limani2 1


The bay of Argostoli is a wonderful natural landscape which is the main reason why the port in one of the most beautiful Mediterranean ports.

On the beach you can walk around and gaze at the street vendors, holding a coffee or eating ice cream. The promenade is ideal for romantics and those who love walking in low light.



Οι καλύτερες παραλίες της Κεφαλονιάς- Best Beaches Kefalonia GET PDF GUIDE

Κατέβασε τον οδηγό - Get the PDF guide.

We respect your privacy.